Week 22A – The Sound that comes with Silence

 

  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gn1HWWZI1rE

We, who have been traveling through the Master Key Master Mind Experience were challenged by Mark J and the Fabulous Davene to find a large block of time of SILENCE.  I enjoy being a little old fashioned, so I have opened the Webster Dictionary and looked up the word silence.  It is defined as follows:

1.  The condition or quality of being or keeping still and silent.  2.  The absence of sound; stillness.  3.  A period of time without speech or noise.   4.  Refusal or failure to speak out.  To make silent or bring to silence; silence the crowd.  To curtail the expression of, suppress.

shutting out words.

Finding a space in time that is empty of television, cell phones, computer, internet, face book, people, clocks and more can be rather a challenge.  This exercise has been no exception.  In the past I have completed silent retreats where I did not speak for four days.  As it was next to impossible to do that within the next few weeks, I choose to participate in what was defined as a “Desert Day” silent retreat at the convent of the Sisters of the Most Precious Blood.   ( At one time, a high school staffed by the nuns was located on the campus.  This is where my daughter attended high school.  It has since closed.)

sea

The challenge of this self directed retreat was to meditate on the scripture of the day, LECTIO DIVINA.  This is Latin meaning a traditional Benedictine practice of scriptural reading, meditation and prayer intended to promote communion with God and increase knowledge of God’s word.   Readings on this day were centered on Jonah chapter two.   Interesting isn’t it, I come with no agenda and God’s calls me to reflect on Jonah’s prayer asking to save him while he is stuck in the belly of a whale!

jonah in the belly

Out of my distress I called to the Lord, and he answered me; From the midst of the nether world I cried for help, and you heard my voice.   (Jonah 2:1) 

If one to step back and look around, couldn’t you define many people like Jonah.    I can.  Can you think of people refusing to listen to God, running away, getting thrown out and about in the raging sea and swallowed into the belly of a whale!   I can.   I sat for a long, long time thinking.  Meanwhile I heard a soothing water foundation in the background with water flowing.  I heard tree branches tapping a window pane.  I saw the sun shining through a window pane as a prism of light.  I closed my eyes for a time and later opened them reflecting upon the blessed sacrament.  I closed my eyes again listening to the ticking clock and later opened my eyes staring at the cross.    Long, long periods of silence, long periods of tapping, long periods of ticking.

god speaks in silence

I believe God spoke to me whispering ever so faintly in my heart.  Shh… no noise please.  So what did God say?  Let me quote some words from James Allen, AS A MAN THINKETH.  ”  Achievement, of whatever kind, is the crown of effort, the diadem of thought.  By the aid of self-control, resolution, purity, righteousness, and well-directed thought a man asscends  {is spit out of the belly of the whale} ; but the aid of animality, indolence, impurity, corruption, and confusion of thought a man descends {into the belly of the whale}.  …. A strong man cannot help a weaker unless that weaker is willing to be helped, and even then the weak man must become strong of himself; he must, by his own efforts, develop the strength which he admires in another.”  

jonah about to be swallowed

  I will not share the details, but there is an individual in our lives right now who is sitting in the belly of the whale, God let me know in absolute terms that I cannot help him unless he asks for my help.  So what do I do, I watch and wait until this individual cries out.  I wait.  I am, after all, a simple foot soldier for God. 

sometimes silence

The day of silence was refreshing and I walked away serene and peaceful.  Yet before I left for the day, God had more to say to me.  Again, I quote from James Allen;  “The vision that you glorify in your mind, the Ideal that you enthrone in your heart- this you will build your life by, this you will become.”

the internet monk

I interpret it to mean that all that I have done through these 22 weeks to visualize my definite major purpose will become reality.  My task is to simple wait as new paths, generous support and the world of abundance and possibilities come to fruition.

“In silence of the heart God speaks.  if you face God in prayer and silence, God will speak to you.  Then you will know that you are nothing.  It is only when you realize your nothingness,  your emptiness, that God can fill you with Himself.  Souls of prayer are souls of great silence.”

Mother Theresa

mother theresa

5 thoughts on “Week 22A – The Sound that comes with Silence

  1. Nicole W says:

    Kris, this is an amazing post. I am in awe of the insights and value you received from your silent retreat. So inspiring, thank you for sharing it!

  2. So many great thoughts in this post….thanks.

  3. Nicole–I also am so touched by your comments. God does speak to the silence of our hearts & I also so agree with your comments about the last 22 weeks. Our DMP will come to fruition, with Holy Spirit directing our path. Blessings for this encouraging blog.

  4. Kris–sorry I put Nicole’s name in! So apologize!!

Leave a Reply

