Week 15 – The Power of a Word Picture

quote N. Hill

Months ago when I started the Master Key System course with the Mark J., the World’s Laziest Networker, and his wife, the fabulous Davene, we were instructed to write our definite main purpose (DMP) in a 400 word essay format.   This DMP was to be an exact, enthusiastic, clearly defined picture of what we desire to achieve within our life.   The fabulous Davene ended up being my editor and like a true student, I followed her instructions to the letter.   It took a few re-writes, but to this day I love my DMP.

fire in the seat of your soul

Moving forward fifteen weeks later, I read this statement in, THE MASTER KEY SYSTEM, by Charles Haanel:

“… word is a thought form, and a sentence is a combination of thought forms, therefore, if we wish our ideal to be beautiful or strong, we must see that the words out of which this temple  will eventually be created are exact, that they are put together carefully, because accuracy in building words and sentences is the highest form of architecture in civilization and is a passport to success.”

fireowrks

WOW, The lights went off, the fireworks went blaring off within my mind, when I came to this paragraph.  OMGoodness!  So this what they meant, I got it!!!!!  

eating a popsicle

Just imagine this, the little kid within me was so excited  it was as if the little kid ran to the ice cream truck on a summer day to buy a Popsicle!  Ah, the simple pleasures in life bring such joy!

When Haanel wrote these words (above) sometime between 1912 to 1917, he had only the power of the word to articulate his thoughts; no email, texting, fax machines, printers, computers, smart phones, ipads, television, DVD players, I’m sure you can think of a few more gadgets I forgot to name.  Odd isn’t it, we have had so many advantages and advances since Haanel wrote these words long ago, but are we any different?   Are we any better off?  I  tend to think many are not.    In fact, maybe civilization may be more  slothful.  Just be an observer and look around, Perhaps,  many people are leading  lives of quiet desperation.  For an example,  How many people do you know use a Webster dictionary anymore?   Most would probably say “NO”, they use the internet.  

library dictionary

 I take heart though, because dear friend if you are reading these  humble words, you are not like the majority, you are marching to the tune of your own drum.    You follow the compass rather than the clock.  Congratulations!  You dear friend are like I,  you have a written DMP and am enthusiastically reading it out loud three times daily and then sitting  silently for 15 minutes or more simply visualizing what this reality looks like.  This experience is simply joy. 

slide 19

There can be no question but that he who “is wise enough to understand”  will readily recognize that the creative power of thought place an invincible weapon in his hands and makes him a 

master of destinay

master of destiny.”  (Part 15 #28)

russell crowe

5 thoughts on “Week 15 – The Power of a Word Picture

  1. Brian says:

    Great post Kris! I especially like the little boy picture. It reminds me of, well me! And for the record I do have a dictionary, thesaurus as well as a ton of books. I donated all of my paperbacks when I last moved in 2009. But I kept the hard bound books. My books are my friends and I can’t put them all up for adoption – LOL.

  2. tomdutta says:

    Kris, this is an astonishing passage and I love the message. I am taking my Hero’s Journey and am honoured you are at my side.

  3. David Sigler says:

    Kris I connected with these word also [ therefore, if we wish our ideal to be beautiful or strong, we must see that the words out of which this temple will eventually be created are exact, that they are put together carefully,] You certainly have chosen your words well today. Enjoyed every sentence.

  4. Eloquently Articulated! Bravo!

Leave a Reply

